In The Dog House

Kaiser is my partner’s 3-year-old Husky and Blue is his family’s 7 or 8-year-old Collie cross Jack Russell cross something else quite possibly! They are near on impossible to photograph when they are moving as they don’t ‘do’ standing still but when they are in a lethargic mood they make great models! 

One of my favourite photos of Kaiser - 'Moody Blues'
One of my favourite photos of Kaiser – ‘Moody Blues’

The above photograph was taken very shortly after receiving my Nixon camera and still getting used to the various settings. It was a stroke of luck really. My traditionalist head would probably have tried to focus on the eyes but my inaptitude meant his shiny black nose became the main focus of the image. And I love the result.

Tired Sunday
Tired Sunday

 When we’re out and about, people mistake Blue for a Collie puppy as she’s only the size of a Jack Russell. And she’s still very inquisitive and attention-seeking like puppies are. But the above photo is of her in ‘grown-up mode’. I pulled the duvet off the bed so there was a simple grey and white background to work with and so Blue’s soulful little eye (I say ‘eye’ because one’s in shadow and not that easy to see) is the pull within the frame. 

Having a Snuggle Sesh
Having a Snuggle Sesh
Snuggle Bum
Snuggle Bum

The above two photos aren’t anything particularly special in terms of technique, and were taken on my iPhone, but I thought I’d share them for the ‘aw!’ factor. Kaiser forgets he’s so big and will circle around and around on the bed until he’s pushed your limbs in all directions to make a little nest for himself. Blue, on the other hand, is quite happy to just settle down ‘as is’. Here she is snuggled up to Kaiser’s backside! 

Big Brother
Big Brother

Another soulful expression on the big man’s face. He tends to settle and stay put once he’s found his spot but Blue’s rather more of a fidget. I think he looks a little put out in this photo! “Mom! Blue’s fidgeting again and I can’t sleeeeeep!’ 

Square Eyes
Square Eyes

The above is not an artistic shot or anything I’m proud of in a photography sense but it does make me smile! Here’s Kaiser hogging the remote and the bed! 😉

Leave a Reply

