Fieldwork

I attended the first day of Moreton Morrell’s Horse Trials (May 2015) to practice taking some action shots. It’s been a while since I’ve been to a horse trails so I was a little cautious about who and what I took photos of, not wanting to overstep some etiquette code. However, I soon remembered how chilled out these types of events are and, in this world of red tape, how close you can get to the action. There’s nothing to stop you from walking on the cross-country course. If a rider’s approaching, someone somewhere (usually a fence steward in a car) will blow a whistle and then you dash off to the side to avoid being trampled on. It’s great fun and means you can get quite close to the jumps for taking photos.

It was a bit of a grey day but I didn’t use my flash as I didn’t want to spook any of the horses so I lightened some of these photos in post-production.

 

Leave a Reply

