Inspiring Ideas I’ve Seen This Week

IMG_6485
Love Sewing Magazine: Issue 24 – Thelma blouseIMG_6484

I think I might burst with all the gorgeous projects I’ve seen recently! I’ve been reading lots of blogs from other sewers, of all ages and abilities, which is ace. I especially liked Ana Sofia’s blog (S is for Sewing) about the clothes she makes for her daughter – classic shapes and beautiful colours.

I don’t have children but I do have a number of nieces aged 1-10 years old. I’d love to make the Thelma blouse in this month’s Love Sewing magazine for my youngest niece – I just need to find the right fabric.

I was browsing Minerva Crafts website and came across this pattern (New Look 6020) on sale at under £3. I have a friend’s wedding to go to next year (June 2017) and I’ve vowed I’ll make myself a dress to wear to it. It’s in Wales so although it’ll be summer I’ll probably need a blazer or something so I want a short sleeved or sleeveless dress with a good full skirt for dancing! Pattern D (the turquoise polka dot one) looks like the dress for me, and I especially like the sweetheart neckline. 🙂 I’ve come across some beautiful fabrics online but it’s too early to decide yet.

IMG_6471

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Below are the two free patterns with this month’s Love Sewing magazine. The jersey dress is exactly the type of dress I’d buy as it’s a V-neck, a skirt with lot of movement and the waist is accentuated. I’d like to make the dress and the top. The Threadcount wardrobe builder will be a good way to try making a blazer when I’m more experienced. In the meantime, I would probably tackle the skirt and the dress.

IMG_6473IMG_6472

I’ve had insomnia all week (my head is banging right now) so I’ve been toying with various crochet techniques in the wee small hours. Below is one such technique – really simple as it’s just a chain stitch in connected rows to create a spider web. I thought it might make a nice Peter Pan-like collar on a navy short sleeved top; one that has a bit of movement in it.

IMG_6468

 

Finally, I bought a new craft book from The Book People at work because my aim this year is to make handmade birthday gifts for everyone in my family. Not wanting to limit myself to crochet, sewing and cake making, I fancy having a go at soap and candle making, mini macaroons and some flavoured oils. The sewing and crochet projects are very simple so I don’t think I’ll be doing any of those but I know not the first thing about making soap or candles, etc. so for only £5 I think it’s a pretty good buy!

61XdPGWqnQL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

One thought on “Inspiring Ideas I’ve Seen This Week

Leave a Reply

