Catch Up

Hi all,

I’ve been a bit AWOL the last few weeks as I’ve been busy at work, trying to tie up loose ends before finishing on Friday. I now have a week off before I start my new job so I’ll be squeezing some crafting in amongst all the other things I have to do!

My old colleagues know me well as, for a leaving present, they chipped in for a Hobbycraft gift card. 🙂 There’s a sale on at the moment as well so I’m looking forward to stock piling some bits and pieces! I’d like to try making some candles and I’ll probably get some more Boodles yarn as I enjoyed working with it when I did the pouffe (which still needs finishing!).

My colleague Jen bought me this cute little needle felting kit, which I’ll be having a go at this week:


Apparently it’s very therapeutic as you have to stab the felt and the polystyrene ball! 🙂 Another colleague did a great set of three penguins, which looked adorable.

Love Sewing magazine came in the post yesterday and there’s a pattern for a shirt dress that id like to make. However, I already have goodness knows how many projects in the pipeline so it may be a while!!

Also, how cute are these pom-pom birds?!


I love them! The artist who made them has an Instagram page which shows off even more talent, including this family of swans:


I’m in love!! 😍 Whoever knew pom-poms were more than just beanie hat adornments?!

As well as myself leaving the team at work, a couple of other people are going on maternity leave so I was asked to bake a cake for them. I choose Mary Berry’s Death By Chocolate cake as I’ve made it twice before and it’s always gone down well. It turned out really well and was quickly devoured!

In terms of baking I also made some blueberry muffins, some triple chocolate ones and some naiomino bars. None of them turned out quite right and I didn’t take any photos. I really struggle to make good muffins – they always taste too rubbery – so if anyone has a fail safe recipe they use please let me know!! The naiomino bars were too thin (I’d tried to fill too large a tin) so they didn’t have that richness that they did when I made them as a kid. I will be making some more though so I’ll keep you posted.

Update:

Oops, I tell a lie – I did take some photos of the muffins and even started a blog post about it! Will publish it in a few minutes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

