Al Cappuccino

Having made a batch of lemon drizzle cake earlier in the week, I wanted to try out a new recipe so I settled on Mary Berry’s Cappuccino Cake, as shown below.

img_6951

I mainly chose it because I already had all the necessary ingredients in the house (or so I thought). As it turned out I had less than half the amount of butter I needed so I also used some sunflower oil, thinking how well this had worked in the Death By Chocolate Cake recipe. Following the advice of various online bakers, I didn’t use 60g of oil for the 60g of butter I was missing – I used more like 40g. The cakes rose well and are very spongey so I think I got away with it – phew! By the way – totally worth writing the size of your baking tins on the bottom with a Sharpie. Prevents the need to hunt for a tape measure when you forget whether you own a 20cm one or not. πŸ™‚

Whilst trying to make the icing earlier I discovered that single cream doesn’t thicken, no matter how much you whisk it!! Oops. Off to the shops I went to get some double cream instead… and Β£17 worth of other groceries in the process! I can never simply go to the shop for one or two things it seems.

So, double cream suitably whipped up, I added the coffee and sprinkled (hmmmm…) cocoa powder over the top as per the instructions. I’m not sure about you but I fine it really hard to ‘lightly dust’ the top of a cake with cocoa powder or icing sugar – I always get splots of dense ‘dusting’ so it ends up looking a bit heavy-handed. Oh well. All goes down the same way, I suppose.

Here are the obligatory photos so you know I’m not lying:

img_6954

img_6960

I over whipped the cream – oops. I got a little bit side-tracked as I was also making pea and mint soup (had to use up the opened whipped-but-not-whipped single cream somehow) and a roast dinner – one meat and one veggie – at the same time.

In other news, how cute is my bunny mug?!

Photo on 29-05-2016 at 21.27 #2

I’m sat outside in the dimming light as I write this. How I love summer nights. πŸ™‚ And yes, I have wonky fingers. Thanks for noticing.

 

2 thoughts on “Al Cappuccino

  1. Pea and mint soup? Sounds fabulous! I’ll bet Al Cappuccino was absolutely delicious….and marking the tin bottoms with a sharpie is a genius idea. And oh yes, that bunny mug is adorable, where would someone find one?

    Like

    1. The soup was super easy – I just tossed stuff into my soup maker and added more flavour as necessary! πŸ™‚ Probably won’t be able to make it the same again but a variation of. Cake worked out well and is half gone already! The mug’s from Sainsbury’s but it was clearance so probably sold out now. Reminds me of my little grey bunny as he often has that same quizzical expression! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

