Flowers, Flowers Everywhere!

I’m working on a freestyle maxi skirt at the moment, which I hope to be able to finish soon. In need of a short break, I thought I’d share with you some new fabrics I’ve bought. 🙂 I actually have more on order (I’m addicted) – a lovely candy pink linen which I want to make a shift dress from – but we’ll start with those I have!


First up is this chirpy floral chiffon which will become a maxi dress in time. It’s bright but not overpowering so I think it will be perfect! I have 4 metres of this one. Just to give you an idea of how large the flowers are on it, here’s one next to my hand to give it some scale;


No ‘ditsy’ flowers here!!

Next, from the same online store (On Trend Fabrics on Etsy.com) I bought 2 metres of a woven chiffon in an unusual colour for me to pick; yellow. I don’t suit yellow, nor am I particularly drawn to it, but this pattern is lovely and I was caught by the mention of ‘grey’ (one of my favourites!).


Dare I say it’s a little bit more yellow than I thought it would be so I think this fabric will make a skirt or a blouse but not a dress, unless it’s for someone else!


The print on this one isn’t as big but it’s still sizeable.


Above are the lining fabrics I bought. The pink one is a bit ‘plastic-y’ but the white one is okay. The pink lining is for the summer dress I have planned in butterfly chiffon and the white will go under the first fabric in this post.

Now, this next one isn’t new as I’ve had it since just after Christmas (when I spent £50 in the sewing section of John Lewis!) but I don’t think I’ve shared it before.


It’s a John Kaldor fabric and I think it’s a viscose blend. It’s quite weighty but still okay for summer (this is Britain after all) and would make a stunning long, fitted, cowl neck dress. Sadly, I only bought a metre so that idea won’t be realised but I’ll come up with something!

And finally, here’s the fabric I’m using for the aforementioned maxi skirt…


It’s a lightweight polycotton I bought online a while back (The Textile Centre on eBay.co.uk) and I love it. I’m super excited to get this skirt finished so I can flounce around in it!

Bye for now! 🙂

One thought on “Flowers, Flowers Everywhere!

Leave a Reply

