Butter Me Up

Day two of my week of annual leave and I saw the bottom of the first basket of ironing! Wow, do I know how to live it up! 😉 Seriously though, this is the first period of annual leave I’ve had since starting my new job in May and it’s a great opportunity to ‘sort’ stuff I’ve been meaning to for ages. My ironing pile only ever grows and includes clothing I’d long forgotten I even had so needs must. I also have exciting door painting plans, and drawer organising. I know – steady on, eh? Save some of the fun for the Christmas holidays! 😉 

In all seriousness, it is a week of more work and less play as I’ve officially enrolled on a Master’s programme via distance learning and am trying to get to grips with the various learning platforms and assessment schedules before term properly starts next week. I alternate between excitement and interest to utter despair and head-clutching ‘why-am-I-doing-this?!’ moments. I doubt there’ll be a reprieve for the next two years… 

As I’ve rather ambitiously settled on making many Christmas presents this year (yes, you may shoot me for mentioning the C-word twice in one September post!), some of my less productive, rather distracting habits have to give. So I’ve left social media as a starting point. I love blogging though so that won’t be going anywhere! 

I’m in the process of pre-washing and drying fabric for some new makes and I’m intending to start a new blouse today. I’ve also got to collect the fabric for Karl’s polo shirt later and make a start on it. Meanwhile, I’m in the middle of another crocheted gift using more t-shirt yarn (see below). 

As I was up at 5.30am yesterday I decided to make cupcakes (why not?) – simple lemon flavoured and plain (vanilla) ones. I then iced some of the vanilla ones with chocolate caramel butter icing, and some with coffee icing. The lemon ones were cored and lemon curd inserted before being iced with lemon butter icing. Might be a lemon-y overkill but hey! I tried piping the icing on but made a mess of it so I went for the trusty ‘rustic’ look in the end! 

This weekend I’m seeing some family members so I might be able to hold Karl back from devouring all the cupcakes before then to share some with others. The sponge is deliously moist and light and I’ve tried not to go overboard on the thickness of the icing as I find many cupcakes are too sickly for this exact reason. 

And apologies to the sewing community that I won’t be able to be at SewBrum this weekend as planned, only the rabbits have a vet appointment and then I’m seeing family. I hope to hear all about it through various blogs and will try harder next year! 

Leave a Reply

