The Wedding Guest Dress: Part 3 – Bust Out Those Darts

Warning: This post contains unflattering images and naked underarms… 😬

Trying to work out where bust darts should go when you have to self-pin is a tad tricky…! Maybe I should have bought a dressform rather than an overlocker!

 

The pattern doesn’t call for darts but I’m bigger busted than the pattern and don’t know how else to overcome the issue so darts it is! 😝 Gotta love a good dart. Or two. Two tends to be better otherwise you’d be a bit lopsided.

I also need to alter the neckline at the front. I mean, this is a daytime wedding! 🙈

That’s an easy little fix though.

These photos show the inside of the garment by the way, though it’s pretty much the same on the outside; just flowers in different places.

3 thoughts on “The Wedding Guest Dress: Part 3 – Bust Out Those Darts

  1. I love what you’re doing with your wedding guest dress! I just ordered the same pattern for my college graduation in 10 days. I have been sewing off and on since was 10 (I’m 51 now and newly retired with PTSD) and I am thoroughly impressed by your skills! Can’t wait to see the final installment!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words – they made my day! It’s almost finished now but it’s all the tricky little bits that need doing now! I’d like to see your finished dress; which ‘view’ are you making? Congratulations on your graduation. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the congratulation. I decided to go with a much simpler pattern for graduation due to finals and life ☺ which was a good idea, and am still going to make this pattern because I want to always have a nice dress at the ready and want to enjoy making the dress without being pressured. I am making view A but shortening the length to a tea length.

    Like

Leave a Reply

